Michigan Slip And Fall Lawsuit Guide: Everything You Need To Know
Call now for a free consultation
We’re available 24/7
We will ALWAYS answer all of your questions.
When you or a loved one has been injured in a slip and fall, trip and fall, or premises liability accident in Michigan, you can file a slip and fall lawsuit against the negligent property owners. You can also file a lawsuit against a third-party maintenance company or any other entity who was also responsible for keeping the store, sidewalk, commercial building, parking lot, walkway or railing safe and free from dangerous conditions that could cause injury.
That means that to get the best possible result, you should hire an experienced lawyer who knows how to identify all of the potential negligent parties and all of the sources of liability insurance that can be used to contribute to a fair settlement in a Michigan slip and fall lawsuit.
Michigan Slip and Fall Lawyer Frequently Asked Questions
Can you sue for a slip and fall accident in Michigan?
How to file a slip and fall lawsuit?
How long after a slip and fall can you sue in Michigan?
In Michigan, you can sue the negligent property owners and managers for three (3) years after a slip and fall. (MCL 600.5805(2)) If you don’t file a slip and fall lawsuit in Michigan within the three years, your claim will be time-barred and you will have lost your right to sue. There may also be additional notice requirements to comply with if your slip and fall involves a municipality or government building or fits within other exceptions where notice must be provided within a set prescribed period of time.
No matter what state your slip and fall accident occurs in, you should seek an immediate free consultation with an experienced lawyer as soon as possible to make sure you comply with the required statutes of limitations if you bring a lawsuit and to provide notice, if required.
Slip and fall cases are also very different from other types of personal injury cases in that most of the legal discovery should be done immediately, or as soon as possible after the accident. Legal discovery in slip and fall cases tends to occur mostly in the beginning and is very front-end heavy due to the critical need to preserve and document the hazard or dangerous condition as it existed at the time of the slip and fall accident.
In Michigan, the notice requirements that may apply to your slip and fall lawsuit include:
- 60-day notice of intent to sue for a slip and fall that occurs on a county road as a result of “a defective county road, bridge, or culvert under the jurisdiction of the board of county road commissioners.” (MCL 224.21(3))
- 120-day notice of intent to sue for a slip and fall that occurs as a result of a defective highway. (MCL 691.1404(1))
- 120-day notice of intent to sue for slip and fall that occurs as a result of “any dangerous or defective public building.” (MCL 691.1406)
- 6-month notice of intent to sue the State of Michigan for your slip and fall. (MCL 600.6431(1) and (4))
How long does a slip and fall lawsuit take in Michigan?
Settlements are often reached before a Michigan slip and fall lawsuit is required to be filed. A settlement that is made before a slip and fall lawsuit in Michigan takes much less time to resolve. It is not uncommon for the pre-lawsuit settlement for case to be successfully negotiated in six months to a year, depending on how complex the underlying injuries are and if the prognosis and residual impact of the injuries can be reasonably determined, as well as being able to quantify the incurred and future medical bills and lost wages and future economic losses.
How to sue for a slip and fall accident in Michigan?
How much is a slip and fall lawsuit worth in Michigan?
Our attorneys have settled many cases for millions of dollars, but the specific amount of money that your own Michigan slip and fall lawsuit may be worth will depend on the specific facts of your case. The factors that affect how much your case may be worth include: (1) the nature and extent of your injuries; (2) how easy or difficult it will be to prove liability (negligence and fault) on the part of the parties being sued in your lawsuit; and (3) your attorney’s reputation, experience and track record and the insurance policy limits and assets of the parties that will be applicable in your lawsuit.
Let our Slip and Fall Settlement Calculator help you determine just how much your case may be worth.
We also encourage you to visit our Settlements page to see the types of settlements and verdicts that our attorneys have recovered for our clients.
Get Help with Your Slip and Fall Lawsuit from Michigan Slip and Fall Lawyers
Attorney Tim Holland and the attorneys at Michigan Slip and Fall Lawyers are here to help you and your family fight to get the best possible legal settlement in your Michigan slip and fall lawsuit.
Tim Holland is arguably Michigan’s most experienced and successful slip and fall lawyer. He has handled more than 200 slip and fall cases throughout Michigan. Tim also is one of the nation’s most respected lecturers and teachers of premises liability law, and he teaches how to win slip and fall cases at legal seminars, conferences, and legal webinars to personal injury lawyers throughout the nation.
At Michigan Slip and Fall Lawyers, we pride ourselves on treating every client with care, compassion, and respect. We pride ourselves on always having excellent communication and always being there for you. We will ALWAYS answer all of your questions.
To speak with an experienced slip and fall accident attorney about your injury, call us now, or fill out our contact form for a free consultation. We will help you understand Michigan’s slip and fall law and we are here now to answer all of your questions.
There is no cost and there is no obligation.